A note from your Diversity Commissioner

Hello Aztecs,

My name is Channelle McNutt and I am your Diversity Commissioner within the Associated Students (AS). As Diversity Commissioner, I have the unique responsibility of fostering a cultural understanding within the AS, ensuring that it upholds and strongly promotes it’s diversity initiative.

This is my second year as Diversity Commissioner and I have truly witnessed the transformation SDSU has undergone since my sophomore year. I have had an amazing time working with students, faculty and staff, coming to a greater understanding of where our University and student population stands in regards to diversity and campus climate. Although we have made progress, there is still a lot of work to be done, barriers to break, and minds to enlighten, so please join and assist me with these efforts. I cannot do it alone and I need your support and input to further understand what can be done at SDSU to ensure that we all are experiencing a safe and inclusive college journey.

So help me out Aztecs…

What’s going on? What issues would you like to discuss? What could be better at SDSU in regards to diversity and inclusion?

The questions and possibilities are infinite!

I know that creating a safe and inclusive campus is essential for the well being of all members of the SDSU community, so let’s work together to make it happen. One of my biggest goals this year is collaboration!

We need to work together Aztecs! 

Let’s find the things that bring us together and unite us rather than what divides us. Whether that’s culture, food, music, philanthropy, or athletics… We all have unifying attributes that link us together.

If you have ANY questions, comments or concerns please let me know! I am always available to have lunch, skype, email, etc. I am more than welcome to give presentations at organization meetings, events, etc. (As long as my schedule permits).

Please feel free to reach me via email at channelle.mcnutt@gmail.com.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I hope you have an amazing day.

 

I look forward to working with you!

Channelle McNutt

President, Afrikan Student Union

Diversity CommissionerAssociated Students

San Diego State University 

Posted in FYI

Leave a Reply

