Ten Outstanding Students Selected for the 2013 Quest for the Best Awards!



The “Quest for the Best” Award was started on campus twenty seven years ago by the Vice President for Student Affairs.  Dr. James R. Kitchen, Vice President for Student Affairs, continues the tradition of the “Quest for the Best” Awards.

This award has been given annually for the past 27 years to outstanding student leaders who typify and promote the mission of San Diego State University. This award recognizes individual excellence in academics, participation in student activities, commitment to service, and the pursuit of personal leadership development.

In addition to honoring these student leaders, Quest for the Best also recognizes student-nominated faculty and staff members for their dedication, mentorship, and genuine concern for the success of their students. The winners will be honored at a formal banquet at KPBS Studios in April.

This year’s Quest for the Best student and faculty/staff honorees include:


Quest for the Best Winner       Faculty/Staff Nominee Winner

Yousef Abraham                     Randy Timm, Student Life & Leadership

Alexander Arena                    Barbara Huntington, Preprofessional Health Advising

Julia Bussberg                          Dr. David Armor, Psychology

Erin Fletcher                             Dr. Kelly Doran, Biology

Genaro Hernandez                  Maureen Gibbins Paolini, Biology

Lydia Keema                             Dr. Emilio Ulloa, Psychology

Mariah Kelly                             Tita Gray, College of Business Administration

Joshua Morse                           Josephine Mojica, Educational Opportunity Program

Tom Rivera                               Dan Cornthwaite, Associated Students

Catherine Woods                    Veronica Bejar, College of Sciences


To read more about these outstanding students, see pictures, and learn more about the Quest for the Best awards, click here!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s